NOTE: This perennial bill will no longer be necessary after NY DEC finalizes new rules. Support the new DEC rules. August 2008



[Call these Senators to support S2961] smoking burn barrel link to homepage

March, 2005

Burn Barrel Vote in NY Senate!


A bill to ban open burning of trash could be brought to a vote by the State Senate in the next few weeks. The Assembly has passed the bill every year for the past nine years with overwhelming support. But, for this bill to succeed in the Senate constituents must make their views known. Please call your Senator’s office and request they support bill S2961. You don’t need to elaborate; just a quick call is sufficient.

This is the best opportunity yet to get clean air. The growing public awareness of the hazards of burning trash has caught the attention of lawmakers.

North Country Senators are listed below along with Senate Leader Bruno who plays a key role in all legislation. Call as many as you have time. The Senate adjourns in late June so burn up those phone lines!

Thank you.

For more information visit our website


James W. Wright

46th District: Northwestern St. Lawrence County (including Canton and Gouverneur), Jefferson, and Oswego Counties.



707 Legislative Office Building

Albany, NY 12247




State Office Building

317 Washington Street, 4th Floor

Watertown, NY 13601



Raymond A. Meier

47th District: Southeast St. Lawrence County (including Massena, Potsdam), Lewis, Herkimer, & Oneida Counties.


944 Legislative Office Building

Albany, New York 12247



State Office Building

207 Genesee Street, 4th Floor

Utica, NY 13501



Elizabeth O’C. Little

45th District: Franklin, Clinton, Essex, Hamilton, Warren, and Washington Counties.


903 Legislative Office Building
Albany, NY 12247



305 West Bay Plaza
Plattsburgh, NY 12901

email for Sen. Little


James L. Seward

50th District: Otsego, Schohare, Cortland and parts of Herkimer, Chenango, and Tompkins Counties.



307 Legislative Office Building

Albany, NY 12247



41 South Main Street

Oneonta, NY 13820



Joseph L. Bruno

Majority Leader of Senate

43rd District: Rensselaer and parts of Saratoga County.


909 Legislative Office Building

Albany, NY 12247



368 Broadway

Saratoga Springs, NY 12866